George_with_cup_and_teamThe first Annual La Touche Cup Competition was hosted by the Greystones Soccar Club and took place over the August Bank Holiday and the La Touche Legacy sponsored the overall winners award – The La Touche Cup
Congratulations to Malahide United FC on winning the Eirgrid La Touche Cup and a big thanks to all teams for an excellent display of football…

Pictured is Cllr George Jones, Chairman of the La Touche Legacy, The Marketing Manager of Eirgrid (Overall sponsor of the event) and the winning team from Malahide


At an event in the Greystones Library on Saturday 7th July the Chairman of the La Touche Legacy Committee Cllr George Jones announced the winners of the photography competition recently run by the Legacy.

Cllr Jones thanked all who submitted entries over a 150 photos for the competition and in particular praised Committee member Pat Killilea for all the organisation of the final stages of the competition. Cllr Jones indicated that all entries were judged by a IPF member from outside the area and a sample of the entries are on display in the Library for the next week.

The Winners in the five Categories were as follows

Historic Buildings                   Holy Rosary Church by Anna O’Rourke

Residential pre 1960              Cherry Orchard by John McGowan

Commercial pre 1960             Railway Station by Robert Pye

Commercial post !960            Charlesland Shopping Centre by James Griffin

Residential post 1960

Overall Winner                       The Crescent in Charlesland by Jenny Coughlan

A number of the entries will form part of a book to be published by the La Touche Legacy in association with GAHS on “The Built Environs of Greystones Town”

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This